Find us also on:


About the Prize

About LKY Prize


The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize honours outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world’s water challenges by developing or applying innovative technologies, policies or programmes which benefit humanity.

This prestigious international award is named after Singapore’s first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, whose foresight and leadership has enabled Singapore to attain a sustainable water supply.

Since its inception in 2008, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize has gained a standing in the global water arena as the premier Water Prize amongst its peers, by focusing on innovative water technologies, policies or programmes that have been game-changers in their real-world application. The honour roll for the Water Prize includes laureates with ground-breaking solutions in membrane technology, used water treatment, as well as holistic water policies and management that have benefitted the lives of millions. Their achievements represent the pinnacle in sustainable water solutions that have made a difference to cities and people around the world.

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 laureate will receive S$300,000, a certificate, and a gold medallion at the award ceremony to be held during SIWW 2018.

The submission of nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 follows a rigorous two-stage process. The Nominating Committee will thoroughly evaluate all nominations received and make their recommendations to the Prize Council. The Prize Council will then decide on the prize winner.

For Nomination Guidelines, please click here. To submit your nominations, please click here.

Singapore Millennium Foundation

Singapore Millennium Foundation

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is sponsored by the Singapore Millennium Foundation (SMF). Established in 2001, SMF is a philanthropic body supported by Temasek Holdings. With a primary aim to promote research and development of human capital, and enhance Singapore as a centre for research, SMF partners universities in Singapore as well as research institutes such as Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory, National Cancer Centre Singapore, National Neuroscience Institute, Institute of Mental Health, and Singapore General Hospital. It has supported research into liver cancer, Parkinson’s disease, neuromuscular disease, mental health, and biofuel. SMF has future plans to expand into research areas including pedagogy and learning, special needs education, ageing and palliative care, and non-medical bioscience.