Inaugural Asia-Pacific Ministerial Forum in Singapore Catalyzes Water Security Movement

Building on the global momentum of initiating concrete action to address water security issues, the first-ever Asia-Pacific Water Ministers' Forum brings together influential public sector leaders for a constructive and informative dialogue session chaired by Singapore's Ambassador-at-Large Prof Tommy Koh during the Singapore International Water Week.

The Forum, themed "Water Security - Good Governance and Sustainable Solutions", leverages Asia-Pacific's diversity and rich history in managing water concerns to champion policies and solutions for maximum water security. This is in line with the "Ministers for Water Security" initiative presented by the Asia-Pacific Water Forum (APWF) at the fifth World Water Forum in Istanbul last year.

Organised by Singapore's Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources and PUB Singapore, in close cooperation with APWF, the Forum provides a timely platform for water leaders to exchange best water governance practices and to discuss concrete steps in addressing challenges in bringing sustainable water solutions to their communities.

Highlights of the Forum include addresses from His Excellency Mohd Nasheed, President of Maldives and Mr Yoshiro Mori, President of the Asia-Pacific Water Forum. The forum will also feature a Ministerial Roundtable from which a summary document will be presented at the second Asia-Pacific Water Summit, tentatively scheduled for 2012 and disseminated at other relevant global forums by the APWF.

Distinguished speakers at the Asia-Pacific Water Ministers Forum include:
o HE Mohamed Nasheed, President, Republic of Maldives
o HE Ramesh Chandra Sen, Minister of Water Resources, Bangladesh
o HE Pehin Dato Suyoi Osman, Minister of Development, Brunei Darussalam
o HE Dr. Mok Mareth, Senior Minister and Minister of Environment, Cambodia
o The Honorable Mrs. Carrie Lam, Secretary for Development, Hong Kong SAR, China
o HE Shri Vincent H Pala, Minister of State for Water Resources, India
o HE Prof. Lakshman Dhoble, Minister for Water Supply and Sanitation, Govt of Maharashtra, India
o Mr. Taizo Mikazuki, Senior Vice-Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, Japan
o HE Bal Krishna Khand, Minister for Irrigation, Nepal
o HE Tuisugaletaua A Sofara Aveau, Minister of Works, Transport and Infrastructure, Samoa
o HE Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, Singapore
o The Honorable Mrs. Nirupama Rajapakse, Deputy Minister of Water Supply and Drainage, Sri Lanka
o HE Suwit Khunkitti, Minister for Natural Resources & Environment, Thailand
o HE Kausea Natano, Minister of Public Utilities and Industries, Tuvalu
o HE Yoshiro Mori, President, Asia-Pacific Water Forum
o Mdm Erna Witoelar, Vice-Chair, Asia-Pacific Water Forum Governing Council
o Dr. Noeleen Heyzer, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
o Mr. Lo?c Fauchon, President, World Water Council
o Mr. Arjun Thapan, Special Senior Advisor (Infrastructure and Water), Office of the President, Asian Development Bank
o Prof. Toshio Koike, Chair, APWF Steering Group on Water and Climate Change