Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012 receives 61 nominations

61 nominations from across five continents were received for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012. The nominations covered a wide range of solutions including technologies harnessing solar power for water treatment, implementation of water policies and programmes, management of agriculture waters and rainwater as well as the administration of sustainable humanitarian projects in cities. The nominations also included research projects conducted in the fields of limnology, water quality and health, and membrane processes.

Recognising Achievements in Global Water Solutions
Launched in 2008 to honour outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world's water problems by applying innovative technologies or implementing policies and programmes which benefit humanity, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is the highlight of the Singapore International Week held annually in Singapore. This prestigious international award is named after Singapore's former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who championed the development of Singapore's water sustainability efforts. Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012 closed on 31 Oct 2011.

Past Award Recipients
Father of Biological Nutrient Removal (BNR) technology, Dr James L. Barnard was honoured with the Water Prize in 2011, for his groundbreaking invention of the environmentally sustainable, biological method to treat used water. Dr Barnard's BNR technology revolutionised used water treatment processes by using naturally occurring micro-organisms instead of conventional chemicals, protect water quality in lakes and rivers worldwide.

The recipient of the 2010 award was the Yellow River Conservancy Commission (YRCC), honoured for its outstanding accomplishments in integrated river basin management. YRCC's innovative policies and solutions have brought about widespread and sustainable social, economic and environmental benefits.

Professor Gatze Lettinga was awarded the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2009 for his breakthrough, environmentally sustainable solution for the treatment of used water using anaerobic technology. His revolutionary treatment concept enables industrial used water to be purified cost-effectively, and produces renewable energy, fertilisers and soil conditioners.

The inaugural Water Prize in 2008 was awarded to Dr Andrew Benedek for his outstanding work in pioneering the development of low-pressure membranes in water treatment. Dr Benedek has redefined the way water can be treated and shown how drinking water can be produced from different water sources, even those that are highly polluted. It is a big leap that benefits mankind, for those in both developed and developing countries.

Winner Announcement for Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012
Nominees for the 2012 Water Prize will undergo two rounds of rigorous selection and the winner will be decided by the prize council comprising individuals of high international standing from academia, mutli-national corporations and government bodies. The council is chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, Chairman of the National Research Foundation, Singapore.

The recipient of the 2012 award will be announced in March 2012 and the winner will be honoured at a ceremony held at the Singapore International Water Week in July. The recipient will receive S$300,000, as well as an award certificate and a gold medallion in recognition of his/her contributions to the water industry. The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is sponsored by the Singapore Millennium Foundation (SMF).