LKY Water Prize_Lawrence Ang

From left: Mr Bernard Tan, Managing Director of Singapore International Water Week; Mr Ng Joo Hee, Chief Executive of PUB; Professor Rita Colwell, Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize Laureate 2018; and Mr Harry Seah, Assistant Chief Executive (Future Systems & Technology) of PUB

In conjunction with World Water Day and the launch of the International Decade for Action: Water for Sustainable Development 2018 - 2028, Professor Rita R. Colwell was unveiled as the recipient of the prestigious Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 today.

Professor Rita Colwell

Professor Rita Colwell, Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland, College Park and Johns Hopkins University

Professor Colwell’s accomplishments and commitment to the pursuit of science and its application have been exceptional. Over her multi-faceted career which continues till today, she has benefited the lives of millions worldwide through her pioneering insights into microbial water quality surveillance and building upon these insights to transform the surveillance and control of cholera and other waterborne diseases.

Read Full Press Release Here


For general enquiries on SIWW, please visit or email