Home > Landing Page > Past Events > SIWW 2018 > Programmes > Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize

Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize


9 - 11 July, 2018

fee tag.png

Applicable Fee


The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize honours outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world’s water challenges by developing or applying innovative technologies, policies or programmes which benefit humanity. Professor Rita R. Colwell was unveiled as the recipient of the prestigious Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018.

This prestigious international award is named after Singapore’s first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, whose foresight and leadership has enabled Singapore to attain a sustainable water supply.

Since its inception in 2008, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize has gained a standing in the global water arena as the premier Water Prize amongst its peers, by focusing on innovative water technologies, policies or programmes that have been game-changers in their real-world application. The honour roll for the Water Prize includes laureates with ground-breaking solutions in membrane technology, used water treatment, as well as holistic water policies and management that have benefitted the lives of millions. Their achievements represent the pinnacle in sustainable water solutions that have made a difference to cities and people around the world.

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 laureate received S$300,000, a certificate, and a gold medallion at the award ceremony held during SIWW 2018.

The submission of nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 follows a rigorous two-stage process. The Nominating Committee will thoroughly evaluate all nominations received and make their recommendations to the Prize Council. The Prize Council will then decide on the prize winner.


Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 (Monday, 09 July 2018)

13:30 - 14:30
Lee Kuan Yew Prize Lectures
  • Dates: 9 July 2018, Monday
  • Location: Sands Expo & Convention Centre, Marina Bay Sands
  • Price Scheme: Part of Water Leaders Summit / Water Convention Programme Fee
  • User Type: Delegates/ Paid

18:30 - 21:30
Lee Kuan Yew Prize Award Ceremony and Banquet
  • Dates: 9 July 2018, Monday
  • Location: The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
  • Price Scheme: S$600
  • User Type: Delegates/ Paid

Prize Sponsor

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is sponsored by Temasek Foundation Innovates. 

For more information, please visit  http://www.temasekfoundation-innovates.org.sg

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations are now closed.

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018 Laureate will be announced in March 2018.

Publications & Resources

Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2018